2021 Live Streams

Looking for a live stream to include in your event, or to tune into from home? You are in the right place!

October 16

NASA TV Broadcast

Collage of screenshots from NASA broadcast

OCTOBER 16
» NASA social media channels

Tune in with lunar enthusiasts around the world to celebrate Earth’s neighbor in space! Our live hosts will guide you on a scientific and cultural expedition to the Moon. See greetings from people around the world, hear an ancient Incan story about the Moon, enjoy a close-up view of the lunar surface as seen through Slooh's telescopes in Chile and the Canary Islands, watch flyovers of lunar features highlighted on this year’s Moon Map, and learn about NASA’s VIPER mission and plans to send humans to the Moon's South Pole with the agency’s Artemis program. Join us online and use #ObserveTheMoon to connect with us via social media during the event.

October 16

Marshall Space Flight Center's Virtual Observation Party

Outdoor scene with rockets positioned horizontally on the ground
Image Credit: NASA/Charles Beason

OCTOBER 16
» Watch recording on YouTube

Online event featuring an International Observe the Moon Night planetarium show, presented by MSFC's Planetary Missions Program and the U.S. Space & Rocket Center.

October 16

Lunar Surface Tour

People using solar filter glasses to observe the Sun
Foothill College Observatory

OCTOBER 16
» Watch recording on YouTube

Live telescopic view of the Moon from the Foothill College Observatory, presented by Foothill College, the Peninsula Astronomical Society, and NASA's Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute.

October 16

Telescope Live Stream

Moon over Coloseum in Rome, Italy
Image Credit: Gianluca Masi

OCTOBER 16
» Watch recording on YouTube

Online viewing of the Moon over Rome, Italy, presented by the Virtual Telescope Institute.

October 9

Global Moon Party

Collage of screenshots and photos

» Watch recording on YouTube

Join the NASA Night Sky Network and friends for a virtual celebration. Are you preparing for an International Observe the Moon Night event? Interested in Moon poetry and storytelling? Curious about the latest in lunar science? Looking for virtual exploration options, or seeking citizen science opportunities? The Moon Party has something for you!

+ more

3 p.m. PT | 6 p.m. ET (10pm UTC) – Moon Party Kickoff

  • Welcome to International Observe the Moon Night
  • Poet Ásdís Sif Gunnarsdottir and the Iceland Space Agency
  • Hosting COVID-safe observing events
  • Lunar photography tips

4 p.m. PT | 7 p.m. ET Citizen Science and Education Resources

  • Moon viewing and lunar storytelling, featuring Slooh's robotic telescopes in the Canary Islands

  • NASA and you: Citizen Science and Crowd-Sourced Solutions

  • Hands-on activity ideas from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the Lunar and Planetary Institute

  • Lunar Observing Challenge and more from the Astronomical League

5 p.m. PT | 8 p.m. ET NASA Moon Views

September 28

Event Planning

» Watch recording on YouTube

Hosted by the NASA Night Sky Network. Learn how to host the International Observe the Moon Night event. With tips, resources, lunar science highlights from the past year, and more.


2020 Live Streams

+ more

2020 NASA TV Broadcast Program

5:30 PM EDT (21:30 UTC) – Introduction to International Observe the Moon Night

What is International Observe the Moon Night and how can you participate?

6:00 PM EDT (22:00 UTC) – Introduction to the Art and Science of Photographing the Moon

Amateur astronomer Gary Varney instructs how to photograph the Moon, followed by a question and answer session.

7:00 PM EDT (23:00 UTC) – NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland is home to the United States' largest organization of space scientists, engineers and technologists. Learn about our Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter and the scientific preparations we’re making for our return to the Moon with Artemis.

7:45 PM EDT (23:45 UTC) – Question and Answer with Lunar Scientist Sarah Noble

Ask about the Moon on social media with #AskNASA. Dr. Noble is a lunar scientist from NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C. She will answer your questions live on air!

8:00 PM EDT (00:00 UTC, Sept. 27) – Lunar and Planetary Institute

Celebrate cultural connections to the Moon with the Lunar and Planetary Institute. Featuring tales of the Moon from around the globe, hands-on activity demonstrations, a musical performance by WindSync, and a presentation from lunar geologist Dr. David Kring.

9:00 PM EDT (01:00 UTC) – NASA Johnson Space Center

In addition to preparing astronauts for lunar exploration, Johnson is home to NASA’s Astromaterials Curation Facilities, where the Apollo lunar samples are curated (preserved, documented, and distributed to scientists for research). Take a virtual tour of the lab, hear stories about a few Apollo samples, and learn about the future of lunar exploration.

9:30 PM EDT (01:30 UTC) – Question and Answer with Lunar Scientists Amanda Hendrix and Ryan Watkins

Ask about the Moon on social media with #AskNASA. Dr. Hendrix and Dr. Watkins from the Planetary Science Institute will answer your questions live on air!

9:50 PM EDT (1:50 UTC) - A Global Community of Lunar Observers

Check in with lunar observers from around the world. We’ll highlight your participation on social media. Make sure to tag your posts #ObserveTheMoon! And we’ll share samples of your lunar artwork submitted to the International Observe the Moon Night Flickr gallery.

10:00 PM EDT (02:00 UTC) – Lunar Atlas History with the Lunar and Planetary Lab's Steve Larson

10:30 PM EDT (02:30 UTC) – Live Stream of the Moon from Mount Lemmon Observatory

11:00 PM EDT (03:00 UTC) – Tour the Moon with MoonTrek

Brian Day from NASA’s Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute leads a virtual tour of our Moon with MoonTrek, an online, browser-based portal that allows you to visualize, explore, and analyze the surfaces of the Moon using real data returned from spacecraft.

More to Explore